Wikipedia Wars

Thinking about ‘how I think’ sounds ever so slightly exhausting, so I am going to try to explain it as simply as I can — through a game.   Has anyone ever played Wikipedia Wars**?  No?  Well here’s how it goes:

You and your opponent will be given a starting concept and an ending concept. For example, “Jelly Bean” and “George Bush, Sr.”  Both players must start on the Wikipedia entry for jelly beans and end up at George Bush, Sr. using only the hyperlinks within the article.   According to different rules, the winner is either whoever gets there first or whoever uses the fewest clicks to get there.  It turns out I accidentally picked an easy one: jelly beans > American Civil War > Republicans > George W. Bush > George Herbert Walker Bush

Anyways, I think it’s about time I get to the point… This is a fabulous, and fun example of my thought process.  Two things that are seemingly unconnected, a gelatinous artificial flavored candy and a former Republican President, can easily be connected by just a few ties.  Sometimes you don’t exactly know in which direction you are going, or you might have to take a few steps back before you can move forward, but the journey always takes you there eventually.

So if anyone wants to play with me, or try to trip me up, comment me a start and endpoint and I’ll try to beat your number of clicks!

**This game is optimal for procrastination or looking like you are researching when you are not

3 Comments

  1. This is an interesting comparison. Pardon me, I’ve never heard of wikipedia wars! Do you find that thinking is more frequently fabulous and fun than say, painful and stressful, depending on what you are thinking about?

    • It’s really fun if you need to kill time and have a computer handy! But it turns out not a lot of people have heard of it, must just have been a thing at my school!

      I would say any style of thinking can be considered stressful if you let it. It certainly can be difficult because one thought can lead to virtually anywhere else, but I’d say it’s about your attitude towards the thought that dictates how it affects you.

Leave a Reply

