The Future All Over Again

I think my nugget and my visions of the future are related in the way technology organically evolves over time to meet the needs of the people. The entire concept of the Dynabook in the 70s was conceptualized to meet a certain set of needs, and I think the original concept has been evolved (iPad, tablets, etc) to meet the demand of today’s society. Similarly, I think Wikipedia currently meets the demands it wishes to serve for the public and will continue to do so.  The site will only change as much as society’s demands do.  Since, I hope, the desire for knowledge will only increase, I hope that Wikipedia expands. However I find it likely that it will generally remain the same.

 

Somehow Jamie and her Blog seem to take both a very realistic and sensible approach to this question, like I think mine is, and the most fantastically absurd approach, like I wish mine was.  Honestly, this girl’s mind is fabulously crazy and I love it. I had considered making up a whole story, maybe Wikipedia took over the world somehow, maybe it destroyed humanity. Who knows, but that story would take up waaay too much effort for this class.. Back to the serious though, I think Jamie took a very logical attitude towards her topic and determined the two extreme scenarios of Tor’s future.

 

Morganneperez also took more than one approach.  First, looking at the big picture — how will other forms of technology that change affect Pandora? Second, some crazy guesses about holographic images. Third, a realistic and simplistic idea of changing the interface, location of buttons. And finally, the fascinating idea which I LOVE of adding audiobooks, short stories, etc to Pandora.  Internet gods, if you’re reading this, PLEASE MAKE THIS HAPPEN!

Lastly, LinaIbrahim seems to have a very grandiose vision of where Complex Magazine is going. In fact, she seems to have this so well planned and laid out that they should really hire her to do their internal management! Nothing mentioned seems like it would take 10 years to implement, just the right person.

 

Leave a comment